The Three Ages of the Interior Life

 

“We should pray as follows:

IMG_3133

My God, make me know the obstacles which I more or less consciously place to the working of grace in my soul.

IMG_3141

Show these obstacles to me at the moment when I am about to place them.

IMG_3140

Give me the strength to remove them, and, if I am negligent in doing so,

IMG_2206

do Thou deign to remove them, though I should suffer greatly.

IMG_3122

I wish only Thee, Lord, who alone art necessary.

IMG_3113

Grant that my life here on earth may be like an eternal life begun.

IMG_3161

He who would say this prayer frequently would make great progress, which would be written in the book of life. Undoubtedly he would receive many crosses, but he would be borne by them more than he would bear them, as a bird is born by its wings more than it bears them.”

 

 

 

From, The Three Ages of the Interior Life, by Father Reginald Garrigou-Lagrange, O.P.

 

 

 

 

 

 

(Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this blog and/or photographs without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to [Mosaicross] with appropriate and specific direction to the original content).

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

