Beyond despair

I have just finished reading a superb biography on the life of Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn written by Joseph Pearce. It therefore seems fitting to acknowledge Solzhenitsyn’s Christian faith in a prayer written in 1972.

IMG_2328

How easy it is to live with You, O Lord.
How easy to believe in You.
When my spirit is overwhelmed within me,
When even the keenest see no further than the night,
And know not what to do tomorrow,
You bestow on me the certitude
That You exist and are mindful of me,
That all the paths of righteousness are not barred.
As I ascend in to the hill of earthly glory,
I turn back and gaze, astonished, on the road
That led me here beyond despair,
Where I too may reflect Your radiance upon mankind.
All that I may reflect, You shall accord me,
And appoint others where I shall fail.

Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn. 

Leave a Reply

