Resilience

IMG_4213

‘So what is the answer?

IMG_4226

How can you stand your ground when you are weak and sensitive to pain, when people you love are still alive, when you are unprepared?

IMG_4275

What do you need to make you stronger than the interrogator and the whole trap?

IMG_4240

From the moment you go to prison you must put your cosy past firmly behind you. At the very threshold, you must say to yourself:

IMG_1256

“My life is over, a little early to be sure, but there’s nothing to be done about it. I shall never return to freedom. I am condemned to die – now or a little later. But later on, in truth, it will be even harder, and so the sooner the better. I no longer have any property whatsoever. For me those I love have died, and for them I have died. From today on, my body is useless and alien to me. Only my spirit and my conscience remain precious to me.”

IMG_4317

Confronted by such a prisoner, the interrogator will tremble.

IMG_0003

Only the man who has renounced everything can win that victory.’

Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn

The Gulag Archipelago 1918 – 56

Leave a Reply

